[Pigging Out] – Day 6 Recap

Morning Weigh In:

  • Weight: 152.5 lb
  • Waist: 95.5 cm

Intake Stats:

  • Total strips eaten: 25
  • Macro breakdown (g):
    • F = 97g
    • C = 0g
    • P = 88g
  • Macro breakdown (%):
    • F = 71%
    • C = 0%
    • P = 29%
  • Total calories (kcal): 1225
  • total net calories (kcal): 225
  • Total weight of digested calories: 185g

Day Summary:

  • 9:30 am – woke up
  • 10:00 am – had coffee
  • 11:00 am – measured blood glucose: 5.0mmol/L
  • 11:45 am – ate 5 crispy strips
  • 1:30 pm – played basketball
    • played for 1.5 hours
    • estimated kcal used: 1000 kcal
    • weight after ball and shower: 150 lb!
  • 5:30 pm – ate 10 crispy strips
  • 9:45 pm – had Athletic Greens shake with 1 tsbp MCT oil

Notes:

I checked my blood sugar today and surprised to know it wasn’t dangerously low and in fact, it was pretty normal. I don’t think ketones show up on a glucose monitor so I did some research to see where the phantom glucose was coming from. As it turns out, maintaining normal blood glucose levels is one of the body’s top priorities. Too much blood glucose (hyperglycemia) can make your blood “gooy” and can lead to a heart attack. Not enough (hypoglycemia) will make you have headaches and feel faint. So on a low carb diet how does the body cope? Glucose can be made by the body from protein in a process called gluconeogenisis. This process is actually much more stable (like floating on a river) than our usual method of blood sugar regulation, dietary carb intake (like riding a roller coaster). As long I eat enough protein I shouldn’t have to worry about my blood sugar. The problem is that my body also needs protein for muscle synthesis. So, I suppose, eating lots of protein post, and even several days after, your workout is crucial to avoid hypoglycemic.

While playing basketball I did notice I was unusually fatigued throughout (even at the start). Apparently glucose was not being generated fast enough to keep up with my muscle demands. Another thing to note: despite using up around 1000 kcal playing ball, I was not particularly hungry or tired the entire day and had to actually force myself to have my last meal.

My net calories for the day is 225 kcal… Wow!

Leave a Reply

