[Pigging Out] – Day 2 Recap

Morning Weigh In:

  • Weight: 155.5 lb
  • Waist: 96.5 cm

Intake Stats:

  • Total strips eaten: 24
  • Macro breakdown (g):
    • F = 146g
    • C = 0g
    • P = 84g
  • Macro breakdown (%):
    • F = 80%
    • C = 0%
    • P = 20%
  • Total calories (kCal): 1650
  • Total weight of digested calories: 230

Day Summary:

  • 7:00 am – woke up
  • 8:00 am – had coffee with 1 tsbp MCT in it
  • 11:30 am – had 5 crispy strips
  • 1:30 pm – had 6 strips
  • 2:30 pm – had 5 strips
  • 6:00 pm – had 1 tsbp MCT oil
  • 9:30 pm – had 8 strips

Notes:

Woo I’m in ketosis! How do I know? I peed on a ketostix reagent strip and matched it against a color chart. Man it feels good have empirical evidence that your body fat is leaving your body in real time. For the record, when I checked it last night it said 5 mg/dl and today evening it said my ketone count was at 15 mg/dl. Note: The measurement range of the strip is 0 to 160mg/dl

For the first bacon meal of the day I tried to make crispy bacon. I put two paper towels down on a plate, placed 5 strips on top and another paper towel on top of that. I put it in for 5 min and out came extra crispy bacon with no grease pool to deal with because it got soaked up by the paper towel. The problem was, though, that I had no way of measuring how much grease fell off. This bacon was so crispy that i’m sure that it had more protein than fat. So, I just estimated the macros by looking up the common composition of crispy bacon on Google (3F,0C,3.5P).

The next meal, I tried a different method to make my bacon. I baked my bacon. It turned out fantastically easy to set up and clean up and I was able to do batches of 8-10 at a time with no layering. The only problem was how long it took to cook (20 min).

A word on the graph (and graphs in general with two separate data sets): please don’t interpret it as “I am losing inches off my waist faster than I am losing pounds”. I could have easily set the scales differently to make you think the opposite.

Leave a Reply

