[Pigging Out] – Day 1 Recap

Morning Weigh In:

  • Weight: 157 lb
  • Waist: 97 cm

Intake Stats:

  • Total strips eaten: 20
  • Macro breakdown (g):
    • F = 136g
    • C = 0g
    • P = 70g
  • Macro breakdown (%):
    • F = 81%
    • C = 0%
    • P = 19%
  • Total calories (kCal):1504
  • Total weight of digested calories: 206g

Day Summary:

  • 7:00 am – Wake up
  • 9:00 am – Had coffee
  • 10:00 am – High intensity jogging on treadmill (5 min)
  • 10:15 am – 2 tsbp of MCT
  • 11:00 am – Felt hungry
  • 11:15 am – Ate 10 strips of bacon
  • 3:00 pm – 1 tsbp Athletic Greens mixed in water
  • 3:30 pm – energy dipped (hard to force myself to not nap)
  • 4:00 pm – had 5 more strips (not because I was hungry, but to boost energy, which it did)
  • 4:45 pm – the sandman came back in full force, took 20 min nap
  • 5:15 pm – had a coffee
  • 9:30 pm – ate 5 bacon strips

Notes:

I felt tired in the morning even with my coffee. This is probably due to waking up unexpectedly early today and only getting 6 hours of sleep. It also could be a result of barely eating anything yesterday (I wasn’t hungry at all yesterday and only had 1 meal which i had to force myself to finish. This is common on hangover days for me. More on the effects of alcohol in a later post). Energy levels, however, resurrected after jog and shower.. only to dip severely in the afternoon. Again, could have been the lack of sleep or that my body is slow to adapt back to a low carb diet after a high carb weekend. I had to have another coffee to get me going (and boy did it get me going (related to fat content today?)) but I shouldn’t have needed it if I was really in Ketosis. Maybe tomorrow.

The MCT oil I had may have been too much because I had an upset stomach for a couple hours after. MCT in excess is a laxative so this makes sense. Tomorrow I’m going to split my MCT intake to 2 separate 1 tsbp servings throughout the day.

The bacon I got was low sodium (50% reduced).  Not because I’m afraid of Hypertension, but because high salt causes me to retain lots of water weight. Even still, this low sodium bacon has 100mg per strip. Daily recommended intake of sodium would be reached in 10-15 strips and I had 20 today. Even the daily recommended amount will cause my face to literally puff up, but very low carb diets are famously water weight shedding so I’m not sure how this is going to turn out.

Surprisingly enough, I almost never eat bacon. The last time I had bacon was at someones cottage last fall and I can only remember once in my house before that where I cooked it on the stove and made a massive mess. I decided to use the microwave this time. I wasn’t sure how many I would eat so I just decided on a round number like 10. 10 strips definitely couldn’t lie flat on a plate so I had to layer some of them on top. After 4 min of microwaving, it wasn’t exactly crispy, but I was hungry and I didn’t care.

I did realize something while eating the bacon that I hadn’t considered before. The bacon strips I was eating were sitting in a pool of it’s own grease. A pool I was not willing to chug. The nutrition label on the bacon package said there 9.5g of fat in each bacon strip. So how much of that was at the bottom of the plate? After finishing eating I pored the leftover grease into a measuring cup and left it in the fridge to solidify (to see how much of the liquid was fat and not water). It turned out to be 50ml of grease which equates to around 4g of fat. So the ACTUAL macronutrient breakdown for each strip of bacon should be: 5.5g fat, 0 carbs, and 3.5g protein. I also realized that the crispier the bacon the less fat there is on it, meaning I’ll probably have to do this measurement again if I choose to cook it differently.

Leave a Reply

